Daily Archives: May 25, 2017

Thursday’s Mystery Kindle Books: Late Reads

Two Birds With One Stone
by Sigrid Vansandt

KINDLE

With a dash of Southern charm and humor, and the help of a few quirky villagers, the girls just might survive. They’ll also have to figure out how to handle the local catch-of-the-day, Piers Cousins, and the cantankerous Chief of Police, DCI Johns. Will they or won’t they? If they do, they might solve a murder, or two, along with a hundred-year-old mystery involving a Brontë sister and a famous piece of English history.

Check out:
(A Marsden-Lacey Mysteries)


Becoming The Wolf
by R.H. Neil

KINDLE

Who is JD Ward? A farm boy with combat experience as an Army combat tracker.

A rookie police officer, burdened to solve a cold case that’s haunted him since childhood. And a reluctant vigilante known as The White Wolf. A fierce guardian of justice who uses Cincinnati’s forgotten underground-abandoned since the 1920’s-to wreak havoc on the city’s most violent criminals. Now the predators have become his prey…


Determinant
by E.H. Reinhard

KINDLE NOOK

On duty, Tampa homicide lieutenant Carl Kane hunts for the killer of a woman found floating in the Hillsborough Bay. As he tracks down leads, more and more pieces of the suspect’s description trickle in.  When evidence from a seemingly unrelated double homicide points to the same suspect, Kane is at a loss to explain the connection.

It doesn’t take long before the lieutenant gets some answers – answers that could put everything in the life he now enjoys into immediate jeopardy.

Check out:
(Cases of Lieutenant Kane Series)


Fatal Option
by Chris Beakey

KINDLE NOOK AUDIBLE

A tragic accident. A family in crisis. And a killer watching every move. Five months after the mysterious death of his wife, Stephen Porter is pulled from a dreamless sleep by a midnight phone call. His 17-year-old daughter Sara is stranded in a blizzard near the top of a mountain beyond their suburban home. She’s terrified and unable to stop crying as she begs him to come to her rescue. Unfortunately Stephen went to bed just an hour before after a night of binge drinking…


The Shattered Tree
by Charles Todd

KINDLE NOOK AUDIBLE

At the foot of a tree shattered by shelling and gunfire, stretcher-bearers find an exhausted officer, shivering with cold and a loss of blood from several wounds. The soldier is brought to battlefield nurse Bess Crawford’s aid station, where she stabilizes him and treats his injuries before he is sent to a rear hospital. The odd thing is, the officer isn’t British – he’s French. But in a moment of anger and stress, he shouts at Bess in German.

Check out:
(Bess Crawford Mysteries)

Thursday’s Mystery Kindle Books: Early Reads

Rest in Pizza
by Chris Cavender

KINDLE NOOK

Cozy towns like Timber Ridge, North Carolina – the home of Eleanor Swift’s delectable pizzeria, A Slice of Delight – don’t take well to prima donna celebrities. So no one is particularly pleased when TV host and famous chef Antonio Benet roars into town for a book signing and manages to insult Eleanor, her deliciously saucy sister Maddie, and everyone else within earshot. Insults are one thing, however…but a cold dish of murder is quite another…

Check out:
(Pizza Lover’s Mysteries)


Flight of the Crow
by Howard Schwartz, Margaret Schwartz

KINDLE

One December evening in Minneapolis, former soldier and police officer, Tony Crow, has been shot on duty. Sustaining severe injuries, he reluctantly takes early retirement from the police force. Estranged from his ex-wife and young son, but desperate to return to their affections, Crow tries to rebuild his life. In a struggle to regain his former independence, strength and purpose, he decides on a career as a private investigator..

Tony Crow pits his small team against a formidable opposition, as he becomes aware of dark secrets and hidden agendas that could bring them down without a trace, and affect the future of America.

Check out:
(Tony Crow private investigator Mysteries)


The Third Deadly Sin
by Lawrence Sanders

KINDLE NOOK AUDIBLE

New York Times Bestseller: A retired cop hunts for a female serial killer no one would suspect in this “first-rate thriller . . . as good as you can get” (The New York Times).

By day, she’s a middle-aged secretary no one would look at twice. But by night, dressed in a midnight-black wig, a skin-tight dress, and spike heels, she’s hard to miss. Inside her leather shoulder bag are keys, cash, mace, and a Swiss Army knife. She prowls smoky hotel bars for prey. The first victim – a convention guest at an upscale Manhattan hotel – is found with multiple stab wounds to the neck and genitals.

Check out:
(The Edward X. Delaney Series)


The Forgotten Ones
by Brian McGilloway

KINDLE NOOK AUDIBLE

From the New York Times bestselling author of Little Girl Lost comes a brand-new thriller featuring Lucy Black – a twisting, gripping story of secrets and lies, perfect for fans of Louise Penny and Tana French. The body of an elderly man is hauled out of the rushing water of the River Foyle, cold dead. Detective Lucy Black is called in to investigate when it becomes evident that this was not a suicide: the man’s body was embalmed before it ever entered the water.

Check out:
(Lucy Black Thrillers)


Married To Murder
by Robert Scott

KINDLE NOOK

Clean Sweep On the morning of December 30, 1978, in Littleton, Colorado, Robert Spangler lured his wife Nancy into the basement with the promise of a “surprise.” He then shot her in the head with a .38 handgun. Going upstairs, he shot his teenage children, Susan and David. David was slow in dying, so his father finished him off by smothering him with a pillow. Cover Up…